Posted by: aboutalbion | May 20, 2012

Fish Pie


This is the fish pie that I made yesterday in a 29cm x 21cm [11.5in x 8.5in] lasagne dish.  My recipe has three stages: the base, the sauce, and the topping.  While I am cooking, I have the warm lasagne dish in the oven (at the slow cook setting) ready to receive the ingredients when they are ready.

For the base …

700g white fish (if possible, skinned and boneless)
600mL milk
200g bacon (cut into small pieces)
a small onion or several shallots (finely sliced)
250g frozen garden peas

In a large pan, I bring the fish and the milk (with a little pepper) to a gentle simmer, cover, and cook for 2 minutes.  Then I take it off the heat and let it stand for 20 minutes.  With the fish is resting, I cook the bacon in a saucepan with a little butter, and add the onion near the end for a few minutes.  When cooked, I put the bacon and onion – together with the frozen peas – in the warm lasagne dish.  Then I collect and reserve the warm milk from the fish.  After flaking the fish, I put the fish into the lasagne dish, and mix all the ingredients well and distribute them evenly across the base of the dish.

For the sauce …

60g butter
60g flour
dijon mustard
seasoning

In another saucepan, I melt the butter, add the flour, let the mixture cook for at least 2 minutes, and then add the warm milk (from the previous stage) in small amounts – stirring well between each addition – until a smooth white sauce is achieved.  I add a little dijon mustard and seasoning at this stage, and stir again.  This sauce is then poured over the ingredients in the warm lasagne dish.

For the topping …

some savoy cabbage (finely chopped)
600g potato (well sliced)
250g cauliflower florets
butter
sage
seasoning
150g cheese (grated)
milk

I steam the savoy cabbage for around 10 minutes.  I boil the potato and cauliflower together until cooked, drain, mash, add butter, savoy cabbage, sage, seasoning, and three-quarters of the cheese,  and mix thoroughly.  I add milk (if necessary) to ensure that the topping is soft and can be spread easily.  This topping is then spread evenly over the ingredients in the warm lasagne dish.  I use a fork to spread the topping to all the sides and into the corners.  Sprinkle the remaining cheese over the top.

Turn the heat up and bake in the centre of an oven at GM4 [180C, 350F] for around 30 minutes (turn after 15 minutes), by which time the top should be browning and the filling bubbling.  And there you have it ……. a nourishing ‘Fish Pie’ which is enough for 6 – 8 servings.

Leave a Reply

Categories

