Posted by: aboutalbion | June 16, 2012

Chocolate, ginger and orange brownies

I haven’t cut the brownies up yet … but this is the fruit of my labour this morning.  And here is the recipe I used.

a 29cm x 19cm x 2cm roulade tin, generously lined with baking parchment

1/2T instant coffee granules (or powder)
1T boiling water

finely grated zest of 3 oranges

2 nuggets of stem ginger in syrup, drained, and finely chopped

65g self-raising flour
1t ground ginger

a little demerara sugar (to sprinkle on the top of the mixture immediately before baking)

Quite separately, I made the coffee infusion, zested the oranges, cut up the stem ginger, and mixed the ground ginger with the flour.

175g caster sugar
3 eggs

175g butter
250g dark (70%) chocolate, broken into pieces

I put the sugar and eggs in a large bowl and, using an electric whisk, whisked them together for quite a time – until the mixture was pale, smooth and thick.

In another bowl above [not touching] boiling water in a saucepan, I melted the butter and chocolate, and stirred frequently until smooth and well-mixed.

I poured the melted butter and chocolate mixture into the sugar and egg mixture, and added the pre-prepared coffee infusion, the orange zest, and the stem ginger.  With a balloon whisk, I stirred the mixture until it was smooth.

Finally, I sieved the flour and ground ginger into the large bowl.  And, with a wooden spoon, I stirred the contents gently until well-mixed.  I transferred the mixture to the roulade tin, spread it fairly evenly, and then sprinkled the demerara sugar evenly over the top.

I baked the tray in the centre of a pre-warmed oven at GM4 (180C, 350F) for 35 minutes, until just firm to touch.

I shall be putting the tray into the cooler, and then cutting the tray bake into about 15 (hopefully delicious) brownies.

Leave a Reply

Categories

