Posted by: aboutalbion | July 3, 2012

Iced orange cake

Today I made this iced orange cake, and this is the recipe.

Line a 20cm (eight inch) round cake tin (with detachable base) with baking parchment.

(I use the whisking (egg foaming) method for this cake.)

250g   caster sugar
4          medium eggs

With an electric whisk, I mix the sugar and eggs (in a large bowl) for quite some time – until smooth, thick, and pale.

zest of an orange       [reserve the juice of the orange (about 90mL)]
250g   butter, gently melted, and set aside

I add the orange zest and melted butter to the egg/sugar, and use a balloon whisk to stir until smooth.

250g   self-raising flour

I sift the flour, and (with a wooden spoon) stir it into the cake mixture bowl.  I then slowly add the reserved orange juice and continue stirring.

I pour the batter into the prepared cake tin, and bake (with a cover) in a pre-heated oven at GM4 [180C, 350F] for 45 minutes, then GM3 [170C, 325F] for 15 minutes – turn, remove cover – then GM2 [150C, 300F] for 30 minutes.  90 minutes altogether.

I let the cake cool for at least five minutes, and then gently remove the side of the cake tin.  I leave the cake to cool on a wire rack.

For the icing …

150g   icing sugar
15mL+ orange juice

I stir the juice into the sugar until I have a suitable spreading consistency.  I spoon onto the cake and use a knife to spread it as evenly as I can … it’s OK if the icing dribbles down the side.  Leave the icing to set.  Store in an airtight container.  Its delicious …

Leave a Reply

Categories

