Posted by: aboutalbion | October 13, 2012

Poached eggs

I’ve been experimenting with the cling film method for cooking the ‘perfect’ poached egg.

For each egg, I take a generous amount of cling film (approaching the shape of a square) and I push the central portion into a ramekin as a lining.  I brush this lining with a little oil.

After cracking an egg into each ramekin, I close the ‘bag’ by just twisting it (trying to keep two ‘ends’ free).  A little air at the top is just fine.  I then tie the two ends in such a way that I can thread the handle of a wooden spoon underneath the tie.

I lower the ‘bag’ into a well-filled saucepan of boiling water, and poach for between 4 and 5 minutes.

The photograph shows me poaching two eggs simultaneously, with the cling film ‘bags’ suspended from the handle of a wooden spoon.

After poaching, I lift the bag(s) out of the boiling water by raising the wooden spoon.  With sharp scissors, I cut the cling film just below the twist.  The ‘perfect’ poached egg is then ready to be turned out.

I served the poached egg in the middle of a Bistro salad – cheese on toast, surrounded by cooked bacon, sautéed mushrooms, and green salad (with sliced tomatoes and olives).

*       *       *

Oh dear …  I’ve just revisited the concerns about chemicals leaching from cling film in contact with raw food in, say, boiling water.  Reliable evidence is hard to come by, but the general advice is to be careful.  My dispenser of cling film states that it is “Microwave safe” in larger print.  However, in smaller print, it advises: “When cooking in a microwave, do not wrap food directly in the film.  I think I will use the ‘vortex’ method for poached eggs next time …

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

