Posted by: aboutalbion | October 22, 2012

Weight reduction

Let’s give credit where it is due.  For the past ten weeks I have been following the advice of the BBC Horizon programme entitled “Eat, Fast, and Live Longer” that went out on 6 August.

The key idea, arising from research, is intermittent fasting.  Eat normally on some days, and then eat a fraction of what is normal on other days.

I’ve chosen a 4/3 split.  I have eaten normally at weekends and on Tuesdays and Thursdays, and then I have eaten less than half of what I would normally eat on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays.

The result has been a gradual and welcome loss of half a stone (7 pounds) over the past ten weeks … without any changes to the (generally wholesome) food that I eat.

I shall willingly continue with this eating pattern because, as a bonus, I’ve noticed that my stomach feels more relaxed generally … and I want to be kind to my stomach.

Whether I shall live any longer will be for others to decide …

Leave a Reply

Categories

