Posted by: aboutalbion | January 26, 2013

Frijoles

 

Frijoles

On my recent family visit to Central America, I found that my grand-children ate (re)fried beans, ‘frijoles refritos’, with almost anything.

Finding some black beans in my cupboard, the picture shows my first attempt this week.

I soaked 250g of beans overnight, changed the water, cooked them according to the instructions on the packet, and then set them aside to cool.

In a frying pan, with some sunflower oil, I fried (for quite a time) a diced onion and two or three crushed garlic cloves.

With a slotted spoon, I combined the onion with the drained beans – together with a small quantity of the bean cooking water – in a blender, and liquidized the contents.

I tipped the liquid back into the frying pan, added salt and pepper, and fried the liquid (for quite a time) until it reduced into a workable paste.  I also added a little honey to address the rather flat taste.

I shall continue to practise this recipe (and switch to using red beans), so that I have something the grand-children will recognize when they visit the UK in the summer.

Leave a Reply

Categories

