Posted by: aboutalbion | March 10, 2013

Salmon and kale, on a potato galette, with mixed herbs and pear sauce

Salmon and kale

I was treated to a special Birthday restaurant meal at the Royal Albert Hall last weekend, and this is my attempt to return the compliment by cooking a special meal for Margaret last night.

I cooked the galette and the sauce the day before.

My new mandoline (a birthday present) was used for the first time with the peeled potatoes (300g).  After immersing the slices in seasoned melted butter, I composed the galettes on a tray and baked them for 50 minutes at GM4.  After cooling, I covered them with cling film, and placed them in the fridge.

For the sauce, I peeled and thinly sliced three pears, put them in a saucepan with 1T of lemon juice (half a lemon), 100mL of white wine, 1T of sugar.  I gently heated the saucepan to a boil, and let it simmer for 20 minutes.  After cooling, I blended the mixture to a puree, and put it into the fridge.

I cooked the salmon and the kale on the day.

The salmon fillets (plus butter infused with mixed herbs) were placed in an aluminium foil ‘packet’ and baked at GM4 for at least 30 minutes.

On a lower shelf in the oven, I reheated the galettes at the same time as cooking the salmon.

I put the pre-cooked pear sauce on a gentle heat.

I gently heated 100g of kale (with a generous amount of butter) in a saucepan until it was soft, and then transferred the kale to two ‘cook’s rings’.

And then it was time ‘to plate up’ and serve … with some chopped parsley around the edges.  Even though I say it myself, it was delicious …

Leave a Reply

Categories

