Posted by: aboutalbion | February 23, 2014

Torta caprese

Torta caprese

I featured this flourless chocolate cake when I first baked it [see post 11 December 2012].

Since then, I’ve discovered that it has a distinctive name that reflects its history.  Apparently, it is agreed that the cake was first baked for visitors to the island of Capri nearly one hundred years ago.

More to the point, I baked this cake again (with a variation) for a family occasion in the past few days.  This time round, I replace the butter with orange puree, and added some raisins.  So I now describe this cake as inclusive [suitable for coeliacs and non-coeliacs alike] and as reduced-fat [there is no butter or margarine or oil in it].

I have to admit that it was rather time-consuming to make, but it did turn out rather well when it was cut and eaten …

Leave a Reply

Categories

