Posted by: aboutalbion | January 30, 2016

Quotation

Since I live in south central England, a friend has given me a present of “Zuleika Dobson” by Max Beerbohm [1872-1956].  It’s a love story of a century or so ago and set in Oxford University.

I’m half-way through the book and enjoying it.  Beerbohm is a new author for me, and I’m dazzled by his deployment of my native language in order to describe settings.  Here’s a couple of quotations to be going on with.

“Only mediocrity can be trusted to be always at its best.”

“One might well say that mankind is divisible into two great classes: hosts and guests.”

Leave a Reply

Categories

